Profile photo of a State Farm Agent named: John Kater

State Farm® Insurance Agent John Kater

Rating: 5 stars out of 5 (39 reviews)

Leave Us a Review

Our customers are the center of our universe and we’re grateful for them. If you’re willing to share your experience about your interaction with our agency, it’ll be a great help for other people looking to make smart and confident decisions about their insurance and financial services.


Take 60 seconds (or more if you want) to share your story by clicking on one of the review links below.

What our customers say about us...

Ryan Minner

September 15, 2022

5  out of  5
"John made everything super easy to understand for someone like myself who had no clue what he was doing. He took time to explain, share what he thought would save me money, and showed he really cared about me as a person and not just someone who needs insurance."

Isabella W

August 1, 2022

5  out of  5
"Great customer service, decent rates, especially if you can bundle"

John McNutt

February 28, 2022

5  out of  5
"Fantastic service and excellent products. John and his staff are knowledgeable, wise and caring. They are always willing to answer a question or help with a problem. What you want in an agent."

Jordan Fieger

November 13, 2021

5  out of  5
"John and his staff at State Farm are great! Always very responsive and helpful for any of my insurance needs"

Rosh Dhanawade

March 19, 2021

5  out of  5
"John is a fantastic agent and his office staff is kind and friendly. If you're in the area and are looking for an insurance agent this is the place to swing by and sign up or shop around."

Matthew Jones

March 2, 2021

5  out of  5
"John and his staff are amazing! He is very responsive and is always looking out for my best interest and the best discounts."

Matthew Hall

February 12, 2021

5  out of  5
"John is not only a great insurance agent he is also a great friend. He always picks up the phone and is very responsive. He has been great to work with for many years! Thanks John!"

Christa Lehman

February 12, 2021

5  out of  5
"Great customer service!"

Timothy and Mikaela Sands

February 12, 2021

5  out of  5
"We needed car insurance for a new car at short notice and John took care of us and the cost of the insurance was also less than we had anticipated which was even better!"

Karl Lehman

February 12, 2021

5  out of  5
"Great personal service! John goes above and beyond to make sure I've got the coverage I need at the best possible price."

Corin Larraga

February 12, 2021

5  out of  5
"John is the best in the business – always a pleasure working with him."

Chris Rainey

February 11, 2021

5  out of  5
"Like a good neighbor, John is always there to help me when my family needs it. Love him!"

Carol Allston-Stiles

February 11, 2021

5  out of  5
"John is always watching out for us and our insurance needs. We appreciate his timely responses and the way that he treats us like family. In the instances where we have had to file claims, he has been an invaluable help. Highly recommend him and his team."

Daniel Kaczowka

February 11, 2021

5  out of  5
"John and his staff are personable and great at communicating! I've been thankful to work with him for the past few years. It's great having an agent who is easy to get in contact with and is willing to go the extra mile for you. Would highly recommend him and his team."

Mitty Copeland

February 11, 2021

5  out of  5
"John and his team are the best! They are friendly and knowledgeable. My family is always treated with kindness and our requests with urgency. We use them for everything: home, auto, & life insurance. They really value their customers! I highly recommend working with them for fair prices and excellent service."

Evan Collier

November 26, 2020

5  out of  5
"John helped me understand and get the coverage I needed for auto...and saved me $1,200 on my previous homeowner's insurance. If you need an honest and knowledgeable agent, John is your guy."

Chase Lockard

October 29, 2020

5  out of  5
"My wife and I have now had our insurances with John now for 5 years and his service is bar none. He is highly responsive, always helpful, and truly cares his clients. Anytime I call or email John he quickly gets me what I need. I know if I ever have a need for John's services he will deliver, and that is all we can ask for. If you are looking to work with an agent you can trust and cares about you & your family; John should be your first stop."

Matt Bishop

January 13, 2020

5  out of  5
"John was very friendly, professional and helped me with my aunt's policy. Thank you!"

Mike Johnston

October 10, 2019

5  out of  5
"John is a highly experienced agent who is a pleasure to work with. He is all about finding products that fit the unique needs of his clients at a fair price point. You will not get the high pressure sales tactics with John, he cares about his customers and wants to provide the best service possible."

Larry Larraga

October 9, 2019

5  out of  5
"We had another insurance company for years that was for all intents faceless. John's personal touch is a welcome, reassuring human element in an industry where this kind of caring service seems to have all but vanished."

Stacy Ginsberg

October 9, 2019

5  out of  5
"John has been a great insurance agent for my family. His knowledge has allowed him to keep us informed of our changing insurance needs as we reach different stages in our lives, whether this relates to car, home or life insurance. John also works to give the best rates possible."

John Mason

October 8, 2019

5  out of  5
"Great agent, very responsive and thoughtful."

Jim Brown

October 4, 2019

5  out of  5
"Known John Kater at State Farm Newark for over 20 years! His office has a full time staff and always are available to help on the first phone call. I have many policies with State Farm and they are the best."

Holly F.

October 4, 2019

5  out of  5
"John has been our agent for years, and we could not be more pleased. Pricing has always been fair, and our coverage has never left us with any "surprises". John and his staff are reliable, prompt with communication and help every time we have needed them."

Chris Morris

October 3, 2019

5  out of  5
"John and his team have been our agents for years now and are always quick to respond, to answer questions wisely, and to process any claims professionally and quickly! When it comes to insurance, find someone you trust. John is honest, thorough and worth every penny!"